I am suffering from birdfeeder envy! My neighbours two gardens away are close to a belt of trees and are being visited by a Great Spotted Woodpecker every morning. At the moment my bird feeders are overrun with sparrows, greenfinches, chaffinchs, blue tits and starlings, with wood pigeons and collar doves clearing up the debris from the lawn. All very entertaining but nothing out of the ordinary. No sign of the jay, the garden’s too busy for that!

[Dendrocopos major – Great Spotted Woodpecker
About blackbird-sized and striking black-and-white. It has a very distinctive bouncing flight and spends most of its time clinging to tree trunks and branches, often trying to hide on the side away from the observer. Its presence is often announced by its loud call or by its distinctive spring ‘drumming’ display. The male has a distinctive red patch on the back of the head and young birds have a red crown.]

RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch this weekend

I’m recovering from laryngitis and decided to test myself with a gentle walk into Ely, at lunchtime, as the sun was shining.
Resultant BookCrossing stats:
Books released: 2
Books posted on: 1
Books purchased: 7 (4 at 50p from a charity shop, plus one other charity purchase and 2 from our charming independent bookshop, who were offering coffee to keep out the cold)

After the walk I concluded that it may take a little longer for my breathing to get back to normal and I’ll never reduce the bookpiles at this rate.

