I took this morning off work to have my hair done. It is very thick and has to be cut every 5 weeks in the winter and every four in spring and summer. My hairdresser jokes that I keep her in business. Well, I’ve been going to her for over 15 years now, so I suppose I do! 

I then met up with LindyB28 for a cup of coffee and a book exchange in Caffe Nero . Well, actually she gave me two books and resisted the one I had for release. We had a pleasant natter about books, college, the appetites of rowers and Birmingham then went our separate ways. 

I drifted into Lush and bought a few bath bombs; M&S for some foody pleasures ,a sandwich for lunch and released my book on the way out; Waterstone’s for the obligatory “shall I shan’t I ” session – “A Scots Quair” for my permanent collection and two “try me for 99p” offerings;  and a quick nip into Fopp to see if there were any interesting CDs to add to my collection – I came out with a copy of Blondie’s classic “Parallel Lines” ,Queen’s Greatest Hits and !The Unbearable Lightness of being in Aberystwyth”,  I love Fopp – it’s one of those shops which combines DVDs, CDs and books in such a way you that it’s impossible not to find something you like. At the moment they have a lot of 70s and 80s CDs for £5, which are irresistible if you are trying to replace old vinyl and cassettes.
Chuffed, I gave a few pence to a busker  for his spirited/brave acoustic rendering of Led Zeppelin’s “Rock and Roll” and drove home.

It is a warm, spring day and all along the A10 there are rooks nesting and the blackthorn is in flower, so even the drive back home was a pleasure.

This afternoon I had a long chat with my boss about a couple of pieces of work I’m doing and now have a clear plan of what I need to do to finish them.

All in all a successful day.

(“Killer Queen” always brings back memories of the first time I heard it on the radio – 17 years old, just passed my driving test and driving down a country road with my best friends in my Dad’s car)

