From

 ( thanks to

 )

 

1. Would you do meth if it was legalized?
No- why take a drug you know will destroy your life.


2. Are you for or against abortion?

For: always have been , always will. I’ve never been in the position of needing to consider it, but a friend went through it, under
considerable mental stress, before, after and frequently since. I’m not happy with abortion being used as a form of contraception, but if the information, education and alternatives aren’t made available then I’m not prepared to see an unwanted child’s life ruined  for the sake of someone else’s religious beliefs. Happily we don’t have the violent response to abortion in the UK that seems to be acceptable in the US. The argument’s for a woman’s right to choose haven’t changed.

3. Would our country (United States) fall with a woman president?
The sex of your president isn’t an issue, what matters is the ability to be a wise leader. Race, religion and sexual orientation shouldn’t matter, either. The UK has had a woman leader, Margaret Thatcher, and whilst I despise everything she stood for politically, she was a leader ( and when she ceased to be her party removed her)

4. Do you believe in the death penalty?
The older I get the more I see that some criminals should never return to the outside world. Then the question is, which is the crueler punishment? However, we’ve had some outrageous mis-carriages of justice in the UK, and if the death penalty was still in force men and women would have been wrongly executed. On those grounds I can’t support the death penalty. However, if someone close to me was murdered I’d want to kill the perpetrator with my own hands.

5. Do you wish marijuana would be legalized already?
15-20 years ago I’d have said yes. Now the strength of the stuff available in the UK is causing a lot of psychosis and I’m not so sure. If the supply was controlled by the state then I’d be happy for it to be legalized and taxed like alcohol and tobacco. Ask me in 10 years time and I could be using it to manage my arthritis!

6. Do you believe in God?
I was brought up as a Roman Catholic and have been an atheist since I was 14. I tried to go back to the church when I was 19 and it was nothing more than ritual. I don’t believe that a God or Gods exist. If you need to believe in something for your peace of mind, fine, but don’t attack me for choosing not to go along with you.

7. Do you think same sex marriage should be legalized?
There is no rational or moral reason why two people who love and care for each other should be denied the rights and privileges that go with marriage if they are also prepared to take on the responsibilities.

8. Do you think its wrong that so many Hispanics are moving to the USA?
As someone living outside the USA I’d equate this with the significant immigration to the UK of Eastern Europeans since the EU widened. Providing they are prepared to pay taxes and contribute to the country I don’t see why not. If they come to live off the state then no, we’ve got enough home-bred scroungers already. The UK has had waves of immigrants; from the West Indies in the 50’s and 60’s; India, Pakistan and Africa in the 70’s and now , Eastern Europe. The one thing they have in common is they are here doing the jobs that Brits won’t do.

9. A twelve year old girl has a baby…should she keep it?
My gut instinct is that she should bring it up with the support of her parents. However, I think that’s unrealistic as her parents can hardly have been responsible for a 12 year old child to end up pregnant.

10. Should the alcohol age be lowered to 18?
It is.

11. Assisted suicide is illegal…do you agree?
No – I want all the pills you’ve got and a quick way out.  I watched my father die from cancer and my mother has Alzheimer’s disease.

12. Do you believe in spanking your children?
No children, but I was beaten frequently as a child. My sister (who does have children) and I have discussed it. Her line is you can’t reason with a two year old and a sharp slap should stop them playing with the fire or knives. At primary school I was exposed to teachers who used corporal punishment as a power trip; I learnt to despise them.  So, yes, it’s OK , as long as it is appropriate, isn’t a power thing, and is of limited force. Beating someone black and blue in a rage will never be acceptable.

13. Would you burn an American flag for a million dollars?
Yes. It’s only a piece of cloth( and my answer would apply if it was a Union Jack, too)  If you were giving that amount of money I’d like to know your motive, though.

14. A mother is declared innocent after murdering her 5 children in a temporary insanity case, do you agree?
It’s difficult to kill 5 children at once, unless you are using an explosion , gas or pills, I’d need an awful lot of proof of the insanity to declare her innocent.  Manslaughter whilst the balance of the mind was disturbed maybe, but not innocent.

15. Are you afraid others will judge you from reading some of your answers?
I’m not afraid of it, I expect that will happen, but we are all entitled to our own opinion.  This is a non-confrontational way of stating some of my beliefs and opinions, rather than in a response to someone’s posting.  These aren’t “fluffy” issues, some people won’t like them. If after reading this I’m not your sort of person then we probably wouldn’t get on in RL.


